Comfort Zone Reconstruction

“We never test the resources of God until we attempt the impossible.”   F. B. Meyer

When was the last time, you attempted something big for God.  Something so big it scared you.

I am convinced that we as Christians are living in a comfort controlled environment. We fail to jump out of our comfort zone.  Why? Our comfort zone is the place where we feel safe. You know what I mean by those warm, fuzzy feelings. We have them and we like them. We, of course, want to keep them, but in reality is this what God wants us to do? Did God call us to be comfortable?

In Romans 8:28,  “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  Many times this verse is used to let us know that no matter what comes into our lives that God is in control of things and it will work for good according to his will.  As I read these verses today, I thought the verses say much more than this one point alone. These things “work for good” when applied to us fulfilling his purpose for us.  Are we working outside of what is comfortable fulfilling His will and His purpose?  We are called by Him to attempt great things for Him. This activity does not happen when we are content to only do what we have been doing or only what we know how to do.

I think God what to stretch me and move me. He wants me to be more like Christ. We find Jesus moving and shaking things up. We find Jesus addressing the things that were not comfortable for people to deal with. The woman at the well’s testimony after he gave her living water was, “Come see a man who told me everything I ever did!”  Sound comforting to you? It is rather scary, yet I know God does know everything about me.  He wants me to rely on Him. Do we really rely on Him when we are camping out in our comfort? I don’t think so.  We need to get out of the zone and run like crazy people toward what God wants us to do.  Will we be afraid? Maybe, but God doesn’t just stop there. Why else would he prompt Paul to say in verse 31,” What shall we say then to these things? If God be for us who can be against us.

I am ready to attempt some great things for God. I want to find those resources that are available to me. I want to see God do something that was thought impossible!

It is time for a Construction Zone not a Comfort Zone!

12 thoughts on “Comfort Zone Reconstruction

  1. Thanks for the challenging words – I am encouraged in my own life as I see how, even though I am not always good at stepping out of my comfort zone, God is always faithful to push me outside of it in order to grow in Him. On my own, I would probably be okay, for the most part, to keep things the way they are, sailing along smoothly. But, God in His infinite wisdom, continues to bring things into my life to stretch me and cause me to rely on His strength. And I see how the psalmist can actually thank God for taking him outside his comfort zone, for bringing him those trying times – why? Because they bring about a greater good – sanctification. “I know, O Lord, that Your judgments are right, And that in faithfulness You have afflicted me.” Ps. 119:75

  2. Amy thanks for these good words? I love our people in our church , but you are going to have to stop writing some of these stories about me, but if they will encourage others then I give you my permission! I’ll try to do better? Hope you feeling better,and wishing you have a good week! RON.

  3. ByHisGrace, thank you so much for stopping by. I appreciate your comments. You are right that God has some great blessings that only come by getting out of the comfort zone. The verse goes so well with this topic. Thanks for sharing.

    rrbj, if all these are all about you we are definitely in the same boat. lol! I am feeling better; thanks for asking.

  4. Great thoughts Amy! It seems that when we step out of our comfort zones, it is then that we see the hand of God moving. I think that is because we are no longer relying on our own strength, but relying totally on His. What an awesome place to be!
    I’m so glad to read your thoughts here on your blog…and to think, you were keeping all these thoughts to yourself! You are a blessing 🙂

  5. Amy,
    very good and challenging words. I continue to pray that God will help me appropriate the gifts and power of Christ He has given. I also pray that for all Christians. When we begin appropriating those gifts, we will be out of our comfort zone. OUCH!!!

  6. I used to say to my hubby that it was NOT fun living on faith…it is a very scary place…totally unpredictable and out of our control…yet that is His realm…His home…it is an environment of faith…calling those things that are not, as though they were…forcing us out of our comfort zones and into His…it is a place where the impossible is the norm…

  7. I used to say to my hubby that it was NOT fun living on faith…it is a very scary place…totally unpredictable and out of our control…yet that is His realm…His home…it is an environment of faith…calling those things that are not, as though they were…forcing us out of our comfort zones and into His…it is a place where the impossible is the norm…good post!

  8. Christy, It is great to “see” you. I have been missing you in blogland. Relying on God is the key. I am so glad you have encouraged me to getting moving. I have been having a blast.:)

    Bro. TA, I am praying also that God will appropriate the gifts he has given to me. Great thoughts. Very moving! lol

    Jadagigi, You’re right. Sometimes God has to give us the boot out of the zone. “Where the impossible is the norm.” these are good words.

  9. Thanks Amy…sorry I have been absent. Life has been a bit crazy these days. I’ve had time to read blogs, but have had a hard time finding inspiration to write anything. (although I do have a few thoughts running through my mind!)Unfortunately, this is what happens when life gets too busy! I’ll be slowing down soon, though 🙂

  10. wow, Amen, Amy. I often use Rom. 8:28, but I never though of the verse the way you have. You are so right about the “comfort zone”. I think if the Lord wants to do somehting big in my life, I might just have to stick my neck out big for Him.

  11. Christy, I am glad things will be slowing down for you. I have missed your thoughts.

    Sarah, Thank you for the encouragement. Many times in my own life I find myself being hesitant when I know he wants me to move forword for him. Sometimes I need to just jump out in faith rather than fear. It is always great to “see” you.

  12. Pingback: Byway Blessings

Leave a Reply

