Floating or Sinking?

In our revival last week, the Lord truly poured out His blessings upon us. I believe our church has grown spiritually and received a renewal that was needed to go forward for our Savior and reach our community for Him. Friday night, a man came forward for baptism that had been attending our church for several years. On Sunday another person came to us after church and said she was saved and was ready to be baptized as well. We are so glad to have these dear folks in our church. God is so good to us.

The Lord certainly spoke to my heart also. I came across a quote by J. Wilbur Chapman, “It is not the ship in the water, but the water in the ship that sinks it.  So it is not the Christian in the world, but the world in the Christian that constitutes the danger.  Anything that dims my vision of Christ, or takes away my taste for Bible Study, or cramps my prayer life, or makes Christian work difficult, is wrong for me, and I must, as a Christian, turn away from it.”

Wow, the more I pondered this quote the more it affirmed to me that there is a world out there that is grabbing for our attention. How often I find my attention on the wrong things. These things may not be bad things. Let’s face it. It doesn’t take too long to find something that grabs our attention, or “muddies” our focus. There is a lot of good things that I can do, but are they what I should do. In Romans 12 :1-2, “I beseech ye therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God that ye present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God.”

I think the will of God he speaks of here is two-fold. God has a will for us to be saved. God also has a plan for us that is day by day.  Daily we have choices to make on where our focus will be. What is this daily “good, and acceptable and perfect will of God” for you. So often we find ourselves in a place where “this thing is good, therefore I need to do it.” I think we need to prayerfully ask God each day; What is the will of God for me today?  When our focus is aligned with His our days will be productive. 

When we allow the world to have a prominent place in our life rather than God’s Will for us, we will become discouraged and ineffective for Him. 

Is your boat floating or sinking? We might want to figure it out before we drown!

8 thoughts on “Floating or Sinking?

  1. Amy your posts get better and better , God bless you! I hope and pray everyday and give thanks that I got my ship floating, its them times that I park my ship and get off my ship that I struggle to keep my head above the water ! Thanks be to our LORD AND SAVIOR for his saving Grace ! Blessings ! Ron.

  2. Very well said, Amy and I couldn’t agree with you more! It is a daily relationship, isn’t it?
    Thanks so much for the encouragement to continue seeking Him!

  3. Great post! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    To be “in the world and not of the world”, that is the question!

    It is difficult to not be drug in to worldly things, for they seem so pressing and are presented as acquiring immediate attention or else… Or else what? Does the world fall apart if we do not respond immediately but take our time to consider whether it’s in God’s will, or best, or needed? Nope. I actually think the world would be a better place if/when we all did. 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  4. Ron, Thanks for all your encouragement to me.

    Christy, You said it. It’s that daily relationship and fellowship with Him. Glad to “see” you as always:)

    Sarah, It has been nice getting to know you. I enjoy reading your blog also. You are welcome anytime.

    Corry, You sumed it up! To be “in” but not “of”. I think our society moves so fast that even Christians have gotten caught up in this. It would be interesting to count just how many times God uses the words “wait” in the Bible. I know of several times in Psalms. If we all did more prayerful waiting, our lives would be more in tune to His will for us. Thanks for the input. It was “awesome”! 🙂

  5. Somehow the Lord keeps me floating…even though I often sabotage the ship…:) Thanks for stopping by my blog, nice to meet you…are you Gordon’s wife by any chance?? He seems like a very good brother…you are blessed…

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog and offing encouragement – I appreciate it so much. You write so well, this post is beautiful. The basic message is simple enough for a child yet needed by all, I’ve ‘preached’ it to my girls all their lives and now my grandsons live by it. Blessings!

  7. Welcome to Byway Blessings, Jadasgigi and Pat!

    Jadasgigi, Yes, Gordon(at heavenly heartburn) is my hubby. Thank you so much for coming by; it is nice to me you too.

    Thank you, Pat, for your kind words. I am glad you came by. This is something I want to teach my boys as well.

Leave a Reply

