What do you know?

“O Lord, thou hast searched me and known me.” What a powerful beginning we see in the 139th Psalm. David writes in the following verses how deeply God truly knows him, and how he is “acquainted with all his ways.”

As I watched my son play basketball this evening, I saw some things about him that I already knew. I know about his competitive drive and his willingness to play harder than any kid I have ever seen.  He has his faults like all of us do, but he has a love for sports that I admire. I saw tonight also how much he wants to help and please his teammates. When the loss occurred, he hurt.  Our heavenly father knows all about us also. He know our strengths and our weakness. He knows when we need encouragement. He knows when we hurt.  Just as he knew David; he knows us too.

What he knows about us can stir several emotions in us. The first is he knows and sees when I do wrong or make mistakes. Many times I think we tend to focus on this aspect of his knowing us. We do need to be aware when we sin to confess it and forsake it. (1 John 1:9) It is important to keep a short sin account. God is a God of justice and he wants us “to be holy as he is holy.” I know in my own life I am harder on myself than anyone else is. This is an area God has been helping me to overcome. If God went through all he went through so I could be forgiven, I do not have the right not to forgive myself after I ask for his forgiveness. I am learning that there are times when I need God to forgive through me. I see alot of myself in my son, so I am trying to pass on what God is teaching me.

The second aspect of this knowing is that he knows and sees when I am doing right. He knows when I am striving toward the good and right way. He knows when this is a struggle for me. In verse 16 of this chapter it reads, “Thine eyes did see me substance yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written…” and in verse 17, “How perfect are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them.” He knows me, yet he loves me in spite of me. In Psalm 40:17 it reads, “I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me…” I am so glad my Lord thinks about me and I marvel at his patience toward me.  I pray I will be more like him and treat my son the way God treats me with love and patience.

By the end of this psalm, David is asking God to search him and know him even more. David has seen all God has done in knowing him and loving him and ends with a plea to cleanse and heal him and to point him in the right direction. I pray God will do this for me. Just as he wants to know me; I want to know him. 

He knows me completely because he made me. He made me just as he wanted me to be. He has a purpose and a plan for me.   In verse 14, David proclaims, “I will praise the Lord for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works: …”  When my son was born, I fell in love with that tiny soul left in my care. As I looked at him I saw a blessing and felt such great joy. He has grown so much since that day. I find that behind the drive he shows there is sensitive soul. He loves God and I pray God will use him even now. My love for him grows every day.

I think it is time to look at myself the way God sees me: as wonderful testimony to his grace and mercy. I am one who God loves and one who he knows extensively. With the psalmist I will lift my voice and I will praise Him!

12 thoughts on “What do you know?

  1. Incredible post, as usual 🙂 It is a wonderful thing to get a glimpse of how God sees us. It usually does come through in how we view our own children. Thanks for sharing this encouragement for us all to seek that higher goal.

  2. What Kitty, and Christy, is true, you are special, in God’s eyes, and this is a great post,

    and your to sons are blessed to have parents like you and Gordon, and it can be the other way to.

    Amy, have you read Having A Mary Spirit, it is a very book!
    Have Gordon,and your father-in-law , made it home let? hope they have a safe trip!

    thanks

  3. Thank you, Kitty for your kind comment.

    Christy, thank you for your input. I appreciate your encouragement.

    Janice, Thanks for your sweet comments. I have not read that book yet, but I will be sure to check it out. Gordon and his dad got back about 4:30 p.m. It sure was good to have him back home.

  4. Good post Amy ! When I was growing up with all my cousins My aunt that always carried us to church use to tell us boys that she couldn’t watch us every minute but God knew every thing we did so we had better behave? We had a dinner at church one sunday and one of my cousins got my aunts 12 layer chocolate cake and carried it around back of the church and began eating it! Another cousin went and told my aunt that the other cousin got the cake? After dinner my aunt gathered us boys together and proceeded to punish us and my cousin ask her how did she know and she told us that God was watching ? She never said that God told her but we added 2+2 and from that day after our punishment we always was very careful at church because we did believe that God was watching! Blessings to you ! Ron.

  5. Thank you for this beautiful picture of our Heavenly Father. I also enjoyed visiting your blog, and I will be back.

    God Bles,
    Sarah 🙂

  6. Wonderful post, Amy!
    I can only imagine how much it must have hurt Our Father, to sacrifice His only begotten Son, so we could have life. Wow! 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  7. this is a wonderful post. Sometimes people tend to look at others and this post looks within, you have no idea how this blessed me.

    My brother is in a church where there is alot of condemnation and legalism. He forgets he has fallen many times. I tried today to minister to him, but he wouldn’t hear me. He was condemning someone who has fallen but has gotten back up, I was very frustrated and troubled but God allowed me to speak to him in love and peace. It’s in
    God’s hands, I want to see him allow God’s love to flow through Him rather than this condemnng spirit, if you can, would you pray for him, I would really appreciate it.

  8. Dana, I would be glad to pray for him and for you also as you try to minister to him. I am glad this was a help. The Lord continues to work on me and I count this as a blessing. It is so easy to look around at others and compare rather than look up to Christ. Thanks for sharing with me.

Leave a Reply

