All the Strength I Need

As I continue my reading through the Bible, I came across a Psalm that I had read several times previously.  I began to examine the individual verses, and I saw a great vein of truth in each one. The psalm I am referring to is Psalm 18.

This Psalm begins with a powerful verse:

“I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.”

Why do you suppose that David began this Psalm in this way?  By reading in the forward of the Psalm, you will find that this Psalm was written when David was being pursued by an angry Saul who wanted to kill him. David was living on the run, hiding in caves, sleeping on the ground and just trying to survive.  We can certainly see how weary and tired David had become physically and emotionally. God had promised him the throne and the honor of being King of Israel, yet here he was trying to protect his very existence. In this state, He chose to praise and declare his love to the one who was his daily strength. David may have been running, but he knew who to run to for the strength and encouragement that he needed.

This reminds me of Phil 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” This strength of Christ is readily available to us. We need to realize that we are not strong on our own. We are weak ones who need to rely on God for our very existence also.

Paul knew where to go when he needed strength due to a physical infirmity. He states in 2 Corinthians 12:8-10, “For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

I came across a story this weekend that illustrates this beautiful picture of strength in action:

A young boy was on a hike through the woods with his father when he came upon a mid-size boulder.

“Dad,” he asked, “Do you think I can move that boulder?”

The father replied, “Yes, son, you can move that boulder if you use all of your strength.”

The boy pushed with all that was in him. He pushed and grunted and pushed some more, but the boulder would not budge. Frustrated, he said, “You were wrong, Dad, I can’t move it.”

The father replied, “You could have moved it if you used all of your strength, but you didn’t because you didn’t ask me for help.”

All the strength we need is readily available. Who are you running to?

11 thoughts on “All the Strength I Need

  1. why did David run, God had promised him the throne and the honor of being king, and he knew God was his Strenght, why did he not just stand his ground! just wondering

  2. Amy, this reminds me of a story Corrie Ten Boom relayed in The Hiding Place. She was travelling with her father and asked a question of him. He set down his heavy bag and asked her to pick it up. She tried, failed, and looked at her father puzzled. He said, “There are some burdens you were never meant to bear.” There are surely times when life doesn’t make sense. We want to question God, but He knows that the answers are too heavy for us to bear. We have to allow our Father to bear the burden and TRUST Him. Easier said than lived – that’s why David ran!

  3. Jadasgigi, Thanks so much for visiting. You are welcome any time.

    Janice, I think the reason David ran rather than standing his ground is because it was not his time to be the King. Saul was still king and David would have to wait until Saul had died. There was a time when David found Saul asleep in a cave and torn off a corner of his robe rather than kill him. His reason was that he “would not touch the Lord’s annointed.” God’s timing sometime does not fit with our timing. Just as David had to wait many times we have to wait for God to work. Thanks so much for your input in this discussion.

    Kelley, Many times we do want to carry things not meant for us. Amen. Thanks for your story. Your thoughts are much appreciated.

    Kitty, I am so glad. Great to see you.

  4. thank you Amy, I think i know what you are taking about, our timing and Gods timing are not the same, but this was something was wonding about, and just never asked about!

    blessings

  5. The words “Help Me” are so hard to say sometimes, but they are the power we need to accomplish whatever task is before us. My father always told me that there was nothing I couldn’t do. Then I would choose something I knew I couldn’t, and I would ask, what about that? He would tell me there was nothing we couldn’t do together. My sainted mother would always add, “There is nothing you and God can’t do together.” I am so thankful she added some balance to the equation.

  6. Beverly, welcome to my blog. I appreciate the visit and the comment.

    Carla, welcome to you as well. It is so nice to meet new people. It is a great blessing to have parents who encouage you and point you to the one who is our strength. Come back anytime.

Leave a Reply

