Catch the Sunrise

“When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him…”  (Psalm 8:3-4a)

The sunrise outside my bathroom window this morning was absolutely spectacular. It was a great start to my morning to look out my window and see God showing off.  I began to think on all the wonderful blessings God has given to me this weekend. Little touches of his grace and mercy were extended to me through so many different avenues.

The theme of our Sunday services was encouragement. I don’t know about you, but it seems that in the world today,  encouragement is hard to find. Every where you turn discouragement is present. Have you tried to smile and speak to someone in a store only to have them respond negatively?  We, as Christians and as the church, need to be an encouragement to others.

As a child, I remember a little song about having joy. It goes like this:

Jesus and others and you. What a wonderful way to spell joy.  Jesus and others  and you in the life of each girl and each boy. “J” is for Jesus for he has 1st place. “O” is for others we meet face to face. “Y” is for you and what ever you do. Put yourself 3rd and spell J-O-Y.

In the world in which we live, the cry is “me first.” Now I know every person needs to take a little time for themselves. From time to time each one needs a little personal space, but I think as a whole, even in Christian circles, to often our cry is “me first.”  I feel that if we want to find the true joy that is at our disposal  we need to put our Savior first rather than ourselves.

When I begin to brag on Jesus and make time for him first, I find I start to think of what I can do for someone else. “What would he want me to do for this person? How can I pray for this person?” As I begin to talk with Jesus and share my thoughts with Him, I find he gives me encouragement to go out and help someone else. He gives me strength to put “feet” on my prayers. I go from being with Him to doing for others.

It is amazing what this does for me. It cheers me to know that I am carrying out this little part in a big world. I am helping to encourage someone else. I am amazed because encouragement is contagious. You can’t help but catch it. When we respond with encouraging words to others, God will throw a little grace our way and encourage us. It’s grace because we don’t deserve it. We don’t encourage others so we will get a blessing, but it happens anyway. God shows us who he is and what is available to us. It’s “joy unspeakable and full of Glory.”

Spend time with your Savior. Lift him up and see what happens. Then go out and love and encourage another person. Show the world that we have something to smile about, and spell out the joy in our hearts.

We might just catch the sunrise.

5 thoughts on “Catch the Sunrise

  1. Funny…we were just talking about this tonight with our son. Putting people first before ourselves…seems to be an ongoing theme around here.

    From what I have seen thus far, you are quite an “encouragement” in the blogosphere! I know I am blessed and I am sure others are as well.

Leave a Reply

