Bad Day, Go Away!

“I woke up with gum in my mouth and now there is gum in my hair… I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.” This quote is in the opening of a book called “Alexander and the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day” by Judith Viorst.

Have you ever had one of those days when every thing you touched was doomed to disaster?  Boy, O boy, did I have a day like that yesterday. I could truly relate with Alexander and his summation: “I think I’ll move to Austraila.”

It all began with a bad head of  hair. I fixed it. Yuck! I fixed it again. I teased it to the north, and it fell to the south. East and west were not much better. I decided  finally to just let it go where it wanted to, It did.  I fiddled with it to long. I was almost late for work. Maybe I could move to a place where the people wear really big hats to cover well… you know, their bad hair.

When I arrived at work,  several things were already on my desk. So much to do, yet almost everything I did had to be changed or redone. I tried to be cheerful. I tried singing along with the CD player to see if it would help. It didn’t. My nose was stopped up. I sounded rather nasal.  The phone began ringing, and did not stop. Help me, I can still hear it ringing in my head.  I felt so unproductive. I was glad when it was time to go home. Do phones ring on deserted islands? I think not.

The afternoon didn’t go much better. I wanted to post something upbeat and cheerful. I stared at the computer screen. I laid my head on the table. By then, it was time to start dinner.  So, I take my not so cheerful, unproductive self to the kitchen. I thought I could get everything ready, slip it into the oven, and we could feast on one of my favorite dishes when we came home from church. 

We went to church and things were  better.  My “Girls In Action” class only had one in it, but we had a good time.  I enjoyed chatting with good friends. Choir practice was very uplifting. We came home and I sensed something was wrong.  Where was the delightful smell that blows you over when you open the door and something good has been cooking for an hour and a half?  Guess who accidentally turned the oven off when the rice was finished?  I am taking a slow boat to China embarking in 10 minutes.

Well, I didn’t quite make it to China.   I sat on my porch steps and regrouped. After, waiting a while for dinner, we dined on it, and I decided to go to bed. As I lay there thinking  and desperately awaiting the zzzzzzzzzz’s.  The Lord remined me of a verse,  Psalm 139:7, “Whither shall I go from thy spirit, or Whither shall I flee from thy presense?“, and then in verse 9-11, “If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost part of the sea; Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. If I say, surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.” Now I know that God is everywhere. The Bible says so. He goes before me and sees everything I do.  Somehow I always acquainted these verses with “he sees the sins I commit. He sees the bad choices I make.  He sees because there is no place I can go that he is not already there.” Then I realized, he is with me when I am experiencing the dark times and places. He was beside me every time I blundered something. He gave me special moments throughout the day to show me his love.  It was in a phone call from my dad with good news. It was there when my son hugged me and said, “It doesn’t matter to me that supper is late. Everyone makes mistakes.” God was there for me all day long. I thanked him and went to sleep with a light heart and a smile.

Maybe you’re having a rough day today! It happens to all of us. Bad hair, not so cheerful, unproductive days, and turn off the oven suppers are a part of life. Take heart; God is there.

Maybe you feel the urge to move to Australia, a deserted island, China, or a place where they wear big hats. Let me know which way you are headed, and I might just meet up with you, and guess what?  God is already there!

8 thoughts on “Bad Day, Go Away!

  1. Again Amy I have been blessed, you made me smile this morning, your love for the Lord is so apparent in your posts. I leave encouraged and lifted! Thank you.

  2. Amy,
    This was a wonderful post. I was having one of those days yesterday. I started to post something as well and nothing sounded right, so I didn’t. I appreciate your heart in this post. Once again, my friend, we are on the same page 🙂

  3. Dana, Thank you, I could not receive a higher compliment. I want so much for others to see Jesus in me.

    Christy, I hope your day is going better today. The more we chat the more I see what “kindred spirits” we are.

    Gordon, Crisis averted! Homefront intact. Maybe we can just go there on vacation sometime. (Hint, Hint) 🙂

  4. Hey Amy , I’m glad you changed your mind of maybe moving to Australia cause you have always been a blessing to our church family? I think that everybody already seen Jesus in you but now you’re sharing it to cyberspace and that is a blessing to others! God Bless You ? Ron.

  5. PS I forgot to tell you don’t be ashamed cause I have some of them days too ! but I can recognize them about 6 oclock early in the morning when I spill my first cup of black coffee with a little toner in it but I know that I got rest of the day for things to get better! LOL. Ron.

  6. Awww, I sympathize.
    When those things happen at the beginning of the day and I anticipate what I am in for, I rather sit in a corner and wait it out. That’s not always possible, I know.
    I admire your positive attitude to recognize His blessings throughout a day like that. We should count our blessings more often, that way, every day is good! 🙂

    God’s Grace.

  7. Ron, I am glad that you are glad that I changed my mind.

    Corry, thank you for your sympathy. I really appreciate it. 🙂 You are right the blessings outweigh the bad. God is so good, and I really do have so many things for which to be thankful.

Leave a Reply

