The Definition of Me

As you get to know the real me you might be surprised. We had a game at the Minister’s Wives Retreat. Let me explain how it worked. We had a list of several things that we had to find someone else in the room that had done that particular thing, and sign their name by it. The list ranged from anything from riding a horse to milking a cow or finding someone who has less than twenty pair of shoes which is very hard by the way especially in a group of women. As I was meeting all the different ladies, I realized the things that they had done or had not done did define them.
When I was 19 years old, my mother went to be with Jesus. Although this has reshaped my family unit, and the women I have become, this does not define me. I am a wife and a mother to two wonderful boys. They are a part of who I am, yet this does not define me. Another big event in my life came about when I was in a bad car accident 2 years ago. I broke one of my ankles and dislocated my other ankle. My life as I knew it had changed. I now deal with chronic every day. Again, The events that I have struggled through in my life does not define me.  My shirt size does not even define me. Am I making changes in my life and adopting a new healthy lifestyle? Yes, but all of this does not define who I am.
We all have bad circumstances and good circumstances that occur in our lives. Many of the things that happen are with in the realm of what we can control. However, A major portion of events and circumstances in our lives fall in the category of what we cannot control. Yet, these events do not define us.

Our definition needs to be set in one thing and one thing only,  our identity in Christ. You may like I have done in the past is spend more time focusing on what who I am and what I have done, rather than focusing on whose I am. I am God’s child! I am a daughter of the King! I have been forgiven those I did not deserve any compassion. When we come to Christ in humbleness and accept His gift of forgiveness when are forgiven and made over in the likeness of Christ. It is not about me! It is all about Jesus. Satan will try to come to you and discourage you with negative thoughts saying that you are unworthy and that you are defined by what you do and the women you are becoming. It is time to cast aside negative and discouragement, and let Christ cover you with the robe of His righteousness. Remember when God looks at me and you, He sees you with the filter of what Jesus accomplished on the cross. He paid for your sin and mine. Because I have accepted this gift He so freely offers, I have a new definition of me. It is a definition to build a life upon. “If any man be in Christ, he is a new creature. Old things are passed away, behold all things are become new.”

One thought on “The Definition of Me

Leave a Reply

