‘Tis The Canning Season

The Canning and Freezing Season had arrived. It began week before last. It never ceases to amaze how quickly you have to jump in the middle of this, or you will miss the bountiful harvest. Long farms in Bainbridge, where we get all our veggies and produce, opens the day after Mother’s Day. It’s when our work begins. I put up ten gallons of squash because hubby is such a fan, and green beans and new potatoes have been coming from our sweet neighbors. Our corn has been ordered (20 dozen), and we will get it on Monday. Our Family is crazy about sweet corn! :)  During the summer months, if I don’t can and freeze my veggies, I will be sorry during the winter months. That’s the way it is with the harvest; you have to be waiting on it so as soon as it is ready you reap. Hubby and the Boys help me so much during this time! I could not do it all without them. I am glad that they like to enjoy all the bounty during the winter months. It gives us all something wonderful to look forward to.

Amazingly enough, The same principle applies in God’s Kingdom. You work and wait patiently for the harvest. When it is time to reap, you have to be ready or you might miss what God has for you to accomplish.  “But when the fruit is brought forth, immediately he putteth in the sickle, because the harvest is come. And he said, Whereunto shall we liken the kingdom of God? or with what comparison shall we compare it? It is like a grain of mustard seed, which, when it is sown in the earth, is less than all the seeds that be in the earth: But when it is sown, it groweth up, and becometh greater than all herbs, and shooteth out great branches; so that the fowls of the air may lodge under the shadow of it.” ~ Mark 4:29-32

I can not sit idly by, and wait for the veggies to hop into the freezer. I have to process each one by working, praying, and gathering. With each process, small steps are taken. If you miss a step the end result will not be what is best. The aspects of sowing and reaping often apply to someone coming to the Lord in Salvation, and this is certainly true. However, the principles of sowing and reaping can also apply to our ministry. I need to be constantly working with the help of the Holy Spirit to reach others, and help them to grow and mature. In our Sunday School classes, the children in our neighborhoods, friends we meet shopping at Wal-mart, or any other ministry we are passionate about. I may see the results right away, but most often I have to wait for the harvest, continuing to work daily to cultivate the area where God has placed me. Then again, You and I may never know till we get to Heaven the impact we made on another’s life by encouraging and uplifting them, or being that voice of reason when others may fail them. Reaping is sweet, yet working in God’s Kingdom can bring you the greatest joy. We may shed tears over these dear ones, but joy will come.

Let us be busy sowing where God has placed us, and leave the result of the harvest up to Him. His Harvest will be a bountiful one!

2 thoughts on “‘Tis The Canning Season

  1. Kingdom seed sown in the everyday places/spaces of our lives yields a kingdom harvest. We’re not always privy to the outcome of such obedience, but we can be certain of its exponential increase in God’s kingdom economy. Some day, we’ll see perfectly all the many ways that our daily, faithful obedience to our Father’s agenda changed the landscape of history. I don’t imagine I’m meant to see it now; just knowing and believing in the sowing/reaping principle is enough to keep me faithful in the minutia.

    Blessings, sister. FYI – I’d love to get into canning. I do freezer jam, but that’s the extent of my expertise in this area.

    peace~elaine

  2. Very well said, Elaine. We sow and believe. Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. I love canning and freezing. I started several years ago. I bought a pressure cooker and Ball’s Blue Book. It has step by step instructions in it. I also do research online, but the blue book is the best that I have found to date. Happy canning!

Leave a Reply

