Only Pray…

As I have ventured over to Facebook over the last few days, I have been overwhelmed at the amount of friends who have been through so much in the last few weeks. Illness, grief, and struggles have been at the forefront of every post. My heart is deeply touched by each post, because each post represents a dear friend or family member. I feel compelled to do something. I want to do something big for them so they will feel loved, and not so alone in the trial they are facing. I thought to myself, “Right now, I can only pray for them.” Then I was hit with conviction, praying is the first and best thing that I can do for them.

How many times do we underestimated the power of prayer. We can bring the name of someone right into the throne room of Heaven, and petition the One who formed the whole world into existence by merely speaking the words. When I speak a friend’s name before Our Heavenly Father, I am giving them access to the greatest source of power and strength they could ever hope to experience. Jesus can be there with them through the season of health issues they are facing each moment. Jesus knows the depths of grief they face in the loss of a loved one.¬†Jesus knows the ultimate sorrow of being hurt and rejected by those He loved so desperately. The power of a single prayer can do so much more and go so much further than we could ever dream. In Jeremiah 33:3, we read, “Call unto me, and I will answer thee and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.” Our prayers for others go far past the mere request. It ministers to the individual, and meets their needs in a way that only God can minister to them.

I do want to say, however, that we must not use prayer to give us an excuse¬†not meet a need of others. If God tells us to do something to help someone, we should always be willing to go and to do. We should also make sure that before we go; we surround the situation with prayer so we will do exactly what God has for us to do. With the Holy Spirit to guide us, we can met another’s needs in a way that will bring honor and glory to God.

Sweet Friends, remember that we have no effectiveness or power apart from God. We do have access to the greatest power source the world has ever known, the power of prayer. May we faithfully pray for others remembering that prayer is always the best and first response.

 

2 thoughts on “Only Pray…

  1. We definitely underestimate the power of prayer! I know for me, it comes in waves. I prioritize it for awhile and then somehow it is lost and slips away until I rediscover the importance of it again. It’s definitely a discipline – and one we fail to prioritize far too often.

  2. Thanks, Dionna, for commenting. Just when I think I have a handle on a particular area, I move on and then have to refocus on it again. Guess I’ll just have to stop relearning things till I see Jesus. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

